Data base

Currently, all data collected by Irstea is available from the Orgeval basin manager (alain.guerin@irstea.fr). It is directly available from this site via BD_ORACLE©.

The scientific aim of ORACLE is the hydrological and biogeochemical functioning of sedimentary basins, in a rural anthropized environment. Multivariable and multi-scale observations of embedded catchments(1km² à 1800 km²)of the Paris basin are necessary for this research.
ORACLE provides the scientific basis necessary for management and control of risks related to extreme events (floods, droughts) and to anthropic impacts on streamflow and water quality, with a particular focus on agricultural activities. Anthropisation also contributes to increased risks and vulnerability of geographical areas. Only observation, with adapted width and duration, on various scales, from agricultural plot to catchment area, can answer these challenges.
ORACLE is made up of the “Petit Morin” and “Grand Morin” basins (Figure 1). The Morin rivers are the two principal tributaries of the Marne River. They have a direct influence on the flows, going from the Marne to the Seine until the Paris conurbation. The Orgeval catchment, observed since 1962 by Irstea is a sub-catchment of the “Grand Morin” basin (Figure 1). The Morin basins are primarily agricultural (80% agricultural, 15% forester, 5% urban), and consistent with field crop regions. Ground cover has remained relatively constant since it is under observation.

Carte 1 - Observatoire de Recherche du GIS ORACLE: Bassins versants du Grand Morin, du Petit Morin et bassin versant de l'Orgeval.

Map 1 – Research Observatory of GIS ORACLE: Grand Morin, Petit Morin and Orgeval catchments.

 
ORACLE, located on the Brie plateau (Brie limestones, lower Stampien), is covered by a quaternary loess deposit (up to 10 m thick). The upper layer is constituted of loess silt and the lower one is enriched in clay and sand. This silty glossic leached brown soil is characterized by low permeability resulting in temporary waterlogged soil in winter, and the presence of a perched aquifer. Soils are naturally poorly drained. Subsurface drainage (actually 60% of the territory) has been installed starting in the 1960s. Brie limestones (lower Stampien) constitute in a first aquifer of low depth (10 to 20 m), mainly fed by infiltration on the Brie plateau. It is an unconfined aquifer very vulnerable to agricultural pollution, because of an almost total absence of a roof protection. Brie limestones are separated from Champigny limestones (Ludien, upper Eocene aquifer, 20 to 30 m thickness) which level on valley sides, by green clay and supra-gypseous marls, a practically impermeable formation with variable thickness (8 to 22 cm). Champigny limestones constitute an aquifer with permeability and cracks, supplied by the valley sides, the porous zones and the pits. This aquifer is vulnerable near valleys. Limestones of Saint-Ouen, ORACLE deeper formation, form confined water, with infra-gypseous marls roof, which takes part in the supply of the Grand Morin river when it is not surmounted with alluvia (Coulommiers – Pommeuse). This aquifer becomes vulnerable when limstones of Saint-Ouen sub-level under the alluvia. The whole of the hydrological and hydrous compartments of ORACLE area are followed via a complete network of measurement: limnimetric stations at each outlet sub-catchments and in the drainage network, piezometric stations, precipitation stations distributed on the whole of ORACLE area and stations of grounds moisture in surface and in-depth. This device is doubled with a network of water quality measurement for surface run-off, rain and the water-table.
A network of « de basic » measurement is maintained permanently on ORACLE, in order not to stop chronicles. Length and continuity of certain time series on the long run are necessary to i) correctly apprehend hydro-systems operation, ii) detect tendencies or changes in behaviour, iii) evaluate impacts of anthropic origin, from vegetation cover to hydro-agricultural installations in changing climatic conditions.

This basic data is acquired mainly by the DIREN Ile-de-France, Meteo-France and Irstea (Table 1).

 Table 1 : ORACLE Data base
 
Equipements
Types of measurement
Number of stations
Frequency
Duration
Limnimetric Stations
Water level / punctual gauging
11
Continuous
Since 1962 for some
Pluviometry
Precipitation gages with rocking trough
19
Continuous
Since 1962
Piezometry
Manual or piezometric probe
11
(2 to 40 m of depth)
Continuous for some or weekly
Since 1989
Water sampling
NO3, NO2, NH4, PO4, Cl, DOC, DIC and conductivity
11
Daily
Since 1975 for some
Meteorological Station

T° min and max, radiations totales, total radiations, Ground T° to -50 cm and – 100 cm,

Air moisture min, max and average

1 station + 2 near observatory
Continuous
 
Since 1962
 
Soil moisture
Volumetric moisture of the soil at various depths, 3 measurement sites
3 profiles (from 5 to 155 cm)
Continuous
Since1988 for 1 site, 2006 for 2 other sites
Ground cover Chart
Map of the ground cover
Avenelles sub-catchment
Annual
Since1998
Charts
Pedologic and geologic charts, DTM 50 m, GIS supports …
 
 
  • Limnimetric stations

    All ORACLE limnimetric stations (11 stations) are equipped with a weir (rectangular- or triangular- profile weir) and with a reference staff gage. Each station is provided with a float gage backed up with supersonic echo sounder placed in a stilling well connected with the river, to avoid all disturbances during measurements. Stage measurements, in the various considered streams, are recorded and remotely transmitted to the manager of the ORACLE metrological park. Rating curve is carried out and updated from regular gauging carried out at each station. Rating curve points and continuous stage measurements (every hour and every 5 minutes in flood period) are recorded on the national hydrometric data bank (“Banque HYDRO”), managed by the Ministry for Ecology and Sustainable Development.
    The 11 limnimetric stations of ORACLE are able to measure flow values ranging from 0.01 to 1000 m3/s with an average error of 5%.
    Spatialization of flow measurements is representative with spatialization of Strahler orders met on ORACLE. A flow measurement is carried out on outlet of each ORACLE sub-catchment.
  • Precipitation stations
    Rainfall data are acquired via 19 precipitation gages with rocking troughs, all equipped with a recording system and remote-transmitter DANAE/RTC (Alcyr). Rain falls into a receptacle and runs out in one of the two compartments of the rocking trough. When water of one of the compartments reaches 0.2 mm, trough rocks and the second compartment is set up under the receptacle. Each tilt of the trough is recorded. After recording, water flows in the lower part of the trough and is recovered by a gauge bucket.
    Audit and maintenance process of the precipitation gages was set up at Irstea. A mechanical and electric control, as well as a measurement test is carried out annually.
    An semi-automated procedure is used for validation of rainfall measurements. The comparison between bucket measurements and measurements acquired by the precipitation gage constitutes a first data validation. Each period of measurement of a gage is also compared with total measurements taken on the other precipitation gages over this same period. Lastly, measurements are also compared with the lower and higher quartiles calculated from rainfall measurements since 1962. Average error of rainfall measurements is about 10%.
    Spatialization of precipitation stations results from a good knowledge of runoff distribution studied since 1962 on ORACLE. Moreover, rain measurements are also taken through the SAFRAN grid set up by Meteo-France.
  • Piezométric stations
    A set of piezometric stations (piezometers and well) make it possible to study the hydrolic grade line of the two ORACLE aquifers (Brie and Champigny aquifer). On each one, piezometric probe was installed (Orpheus Mini and Madofil probes). Measurements are carried out weekly with contact gauge for one station (Mélarchez piezometer).
    Currently, data are validated by intercomparison between the variations of hydrolic grade line and rainfall events of the Observatory. Precision of piezometric measurements is of ± 0,05%, with a resolution of 0.01% (value of the probes manufacturer).
    Even if there is a piezometric station for each Orgeval sub-catchment, there is a principal transect of piezometer (7 piezometers from 10 to 30 m of depth), localized on the Avenelles sub-catchment and installed by the Ile-de-France Federation of Research in Environment (FIRE) during the year 2008.
 
  • Water sampling
    On the observatory, water quality is monitored through rain, surface and drainage waters, but also through water table and source water.
    Surface waters are sampled using automatic samplers every 24 hours. Other water samplings (rainfall, water table, source, drains) are carried out manually and weekly by the technician of research. All samples are stored on the Cemagref site (Boissy-le-Châtel) at 4°C before being conveyed to the Chemistry laboratory (Cemagref –Antony) which follows a quality step and guarantees measurements reliability.
    All samples are analyzed by continuous flow automated spectrophotometry (Traacs800 Brann + Luebbe) for NH4, NO3, NO2, PO4 and chlorides concentrations. Dissolved organic and inorganic carbon are also analyzed using a TOC analyzer (Model 700 of BIORITECH) with a precision of ± 0,05 mg/l.Conductivity is measured directly using a conductimeter (WTW LF 538). Currently, in situ continuous measurements of nitrate concentrations and turbidity are carried out, via spectrophotometric probes (SCAN probes) in validation course.
    De Spatialization for the water quality is representative of the discharge measurements (Strahler order) and takes place at each outlet of the observatory sub-catchment. Measurements of surface waters qualities allow us to evaluate the discharge of agricultural, forester and mixed sub-basins.
 
  • Meteorological station
    Complete meteorological station, managed by Irstea since 1962, and two stations managed by Meteo-France are located on the Observatory or in close vicinity.
    Part of Irstea measurements is today remotely transmitted to Meteo-France which returns validated data. Meteo-France provides besides validated data, calculated data of potential evapotranspiration (PET). Validation is done here by intercomparison with data of the two closest meteorological stations.
 
  • Soil moisture stations
    Soil moisture measurements, on several depths in the same site (11 depths from 5 to 155 cm) are acquired by a method of reflectometry (TDR). Soil moisture measurements of the surface (0-5 cm of depth) are acquired by “Theta” probes which give a median value of moisture, always by reflectometry, on the whole length of the electrodes (5 cm).
    These methods make it possible to measure moistures with a resolution of 1% and a measuring accuracy of ± 3 % (values of the manufacturer). Currently, there exist three points of soil moisture measurements by TDR, located on the ORACLE observatory (Orgeval catchment area, in the north of the Petit Morin catchment and in the south of the Grand Morin catchment). Three measuring sites of surface soil moisture are located on the Grand Morin catchment.

Données de base

Toutes les données de base recueillies par Irstea sont actuellement disponibles auprès du gestionnaire de bassin (HBANOracle@irstea.fr). L’ensemble de ces données sont accessibles directement sur ce site via BD_OH.

ORACLE a pour objectif scientifique le fonctionnement hydrologique et biogéochimique des bassins sédimentaires en milieu rural anthropisé. Cette recherche passe par l’observation multi-variables et multi-échelles d’un ensemble de sous-bassins versants emboîtés (1km² à 1800 km²) du bassin parisien.

ORACLE, fournit les bases scientifiques nécessaires à la gestion et à la maîtrise des risques liés aux événements extrêmes (inondations, sécheresses) ainsi qu’à l’évaluation des impacts des activités anthropiques et notamment agricoles, sur le régime et la qualité des eaux. Vis-à-vis de l’ensemble de ces risques, l’anthropisation des milieux concourt à la fois à l’augmentation de l’occurrence des aléas et à l’aggravation de la vulnérabilité des territoires. Répondre à ces enjeux n’est possible qu’à travers une activité d’observation d’ampleur et de durée adaptées, à différentes échelles, de la parcelle agricole à celle du bassin versant.

ORACLE est constitué par les bassins versants du Grand Morin et du Petit Morin (Figure 1). Les rivières des deux Morin sont les deux principaux affluents de la Marne. Ils ont une influence directe sur les écoulements qui vont de la Marne vers la Seine jusqu’à l’agglomération parisienne. Le bassin de l’Orgeval, observé depuis 1962 par Irstea, est un sous-bassin du Grand Morin (Figure 1). Les bassins du Grand et du Petit Morin sont essentiellement agricoles (80% agricole, 15% forestier, 5% urbain), représentatifs des grandes cultures céréalières. Le plan d’occupation des sols est resté relativement constant depuis qu’il est observé sur ORACLE.

Carte 1 - Observatoire de Recherche du GIS ORACLE: Bassins versants du Grand Morin, du Petit Morin et bassin versant de l'Orgeval.

Carte 1 – Observatoire de Recherche du GIS ORACLE: Bassins versants du Grand Morin, du Petit Morin et bassin versant de l’Orgeval.

ORACLE, situé sur le plateau briard (calcaires de Brie, Stampien inférieur) est recouvert d’un dépôt limoneux-sableux du quaternaire (plus de 10 cm d’épaisseur) dont la couche inférieure est enrichie en calcaire et en sable. Cette couche est caractérisée par une faible perméabilité qui a pour conséquence la présence d’une nappe perchée en hiver. Un drainage en sub-surface a donc été installé au début des années 60, sur plus de 60% du territoire couvert. Les calcaires de Brie (Stampien inférieur) constituent un premier aquifère peu profond (10 à 20 m de profondeur), alimenté principalement par infiltration sur le plateau briard. C’est une nappe libre très vulnérable aux pollutions agricoles en raison de l’absence presque totale de protection au toit de la formation. Les calcaires de Brie sont séparés des calcaires de Champigny (Ludien, 20 à 30 m d’épaisseur) qui affleurent sur les flancs de vallées, par des marnes vertes et supra-gypseuses, formation pratiquement imperméable d’épaisseur variable (8 à 22 cm). Les calcaires de Champigny constituent un aquifère à perméabilité à fissures, alimenté par les flancs des vallées, les zones poreuses et les gouffres. Cet aquifère est vulnérable à proximité des vallées. Les calcaires de Saint-Ouen, formation la plus profonde d’ORACLE, forment une nappe captive au toit de marnes infra-gypseuses, qui participe à l’alimentation du Grand Morin lorsqu’elle n’est pas surmontée d’alluvions (Coulommiers – Pommeuse). Cette nappe devient vulnérable lorsque les calcaires de Saint-Ouen sub-affleurent sous les alluvions. L’ensemble des compartiments hydrologiques et hydriques d’ORACLE sont suivis via un réseau de mesure complet : stations limnimétriques à l’exutoire de chaque sous-bassin et dans le réseau de drainage, stations piézométriques, stations pluviométriques réparties sur l’ensemble d’ORACLE et stations d’humidité des sols en surface et en profondeur. Ce dispositif est doublé d’un réseau de mesure de la qualité des eaux de surface, de pluie et de la nappe.

Un réseau de mesure dit « de base » est maintenu en permanence sur ORACLE, afin de ne pas interrompre les chroniques. La longueur et la continuité de certaines chroniques sur le long terme sont nécessaires pour i) appréhender correctement le fonctionnement des hydro-systèmes, ii) détecter des tendances ou des changements dans les comportements, iii) évaluer les impacts des modifications d’origines anthropiques, de couvert végétal ou liées aux aménagements hydro-agricoles et ce, jusqu’aux changements climatiques.

Ces données de base sont acquises principalement par la DRIEE Ile-de-France, Météo-France et Irstea (Tableau 1).

 Tableau 1 : Données de base d’ORACLE
Equipements
Types de mesure
Nombre de stations
Période de mesure
Période d’observation
Stations Limnimétriques
Hauteur d’eau /
Jaugeage ponctuel
11
Continue
Depuis 1962 pour certaines
Pluviomètres
Lame d’eau
pluviomètre à augets basculeurs
19
Continue
Depuis 1962
Piézomètres
Hauteur d’eau
11
(2 m à 40 m de profondeur)
Continue et hebdomadaire
Depuis 1989
Qualité
NO3, NO2, NH4, PO4, Cl, COD, CID et conductivité
11
Journalière
Depuis 1975 pour certaines stations
Station Météorologique
T° min and max, radiations totales, T° du sol à – 50 cm et – 100 cm, Humidité min, max et moyenne
1 station + 2 à proximité de l’observatoire
Continue
Depuis 1962
Humidité du sol
Humidité volumique du sol à différentes profondeurs, sur 3 sites de mesure sur le BV
3 profils (de 5 cm à 155 cm)
Continue
Depuis 1988 sur 1 site, 2006 sur 2 autres sites
Carte des cultures
Carte des cultures du bassin et Plan d’occupation des sols
Bassin versant des Avenelles
Annuelle
Depuis1998
Cartes
carte pédologique et géologique, MNT 50 m, supports SIG …
  • Stations limnimétriques

     

    Toutes les stations limnimétriques (11 stations) d’ORACLE sont aménagées. Chaque station est équipée d’un déversoir (rectangulaire à seuil plat ou triangulaire isocèle) et d’une échelle limnimétrique de référence. Chaque station est munie d’un limnimètre à flotteur doublé d’un capteur à ultrasons placés dans un puits de tranquillisation relié au cours d’eau, pour éviter toutes perturbations lors des mesures. Les mesures de hauteur d’eau, dans les différents cours d’eau considérés, sont enregistrées et télétransmises au gestionnaire du parc métrologique d’ORACLE. Une courbe d’étalonnage est réalisée et mise à jour à partir de jaugeages effectués régulièrement à chaque station. Les points de la courbe de tarage et les hauteurs d’eau mesurés en continu (toutes les heures et toutes les 5 minutes en période de crue) sont enregistrés sur la banque nationale de données hydrométriques, gérée par la Ministère de l’Ecologie et du Développement Durable, la banque « HYDRO ».Les 11 stations limnimétriques d’ORACLE sont capables de mesurer des valeurs de débit comprises entre 0,01 et 1000 m3/s avec un ordre de grandeur d’erreur moyenne de 5%.

    La spatialisation des mesures de débit est représentative de la spatialisation des ordres de Strahler rencontrés sur ORACLE. Une mesure de débit est effectuée à l’exutoire de chaque sous-bassin versant d’ORACLE.

  • Stations pluviométriques

     

    Les données pluviométriques sont acquises via 19 pluviomètres à augets basculeurs, tous équipés d’un système enregistreur et télé-transmetteur DANAE/RTC (Alcyr). Pour principe, la pluie tombe dans un réceptacle puis s’écoule dans un des deux compartiments de l’auget basculeur. Lorsque l’eau de l’un des compartiments atteint 0,2 mm, l’auget bascule et le deuxième compartiment se met en place sous le réceptacle. Chaque inclinaison de l’auget est enregistrée. Une fois les données consignées, l’eau se déverse dans la partie inférieure de l’auget et est récupérée par un seau jaugé.Une procédure de contrôle et d’entretien des pluviomètres a été mise en place à Irstea. Un contrôle mécanique et électrique, ainsi qu’un test de mesure sont réalisés annuellement.

    Une procédure semi-automatisée est utilisée pour la validation des mesures pluviométriques. La comparaison entre les mesures seau et les mesures acquises par le pluviomètre constitue une première validation des données. Chaque période de mesure d’un pluviomètre est également comparée au cumul de l’ensemble des mesures effectuées sur les autres pluviomètres d’ORACLE sur cette même période. Enfin, les mesures sont aussi comparées aux quartiles inférieurs et supérieurs calculés à partir des mesures pluviométriques effectuées sur l’ensemble des années mesurées depuis 1962. L’ordre de grandeur d’erreur moyenne de 10 %.

    La spatialisation des mesures pluviométriques résulte d’une bonne connaissance de la répartition des lames d’eau étudiée depuis 1962 sur ORACLE. De plus les mesures de pluies sont également effectuées à travers le maillage SAFRAN mis en place par Météo-France.

  • Stations piézométriques

     

    Un ensemble de stations piézométriques (piézomètres et puits) permettent d’étudier la battance des deux nappes profondes d’ORACLE (les nappes de Brie et de Champigny). Sur chacun de ces piézomètres, un enregistreur de niveau (Orphéus Mini et Madofil) a été mis en place. Seules les hauteurs d’eau du piézomètre de Mélarchez sont mesurées manuellement une fois par semaine, à l’aide d’un ruban limnimétrique.

    Actuellement les données sont validées par une inter-comparaison entre les variations des hauteurs d’eau des piézomètres et les événements pluvieux de l’Observatoire. La précision des mesures piézométriques est de ± 0,05%, avec une résolution de 0,01% (valeur du constructeur).

    Les relevés piézométriques sont effectués principalement sur l’un des sous-bassins de l’Orgeval. Le niveau de la nappe est pris en compte en un point, sur chaque sous-bassin de l’Orgeval. De plus, un transect piézométrique (7 piézomètres de 10 à 30 m de profondeur) à été installé par la Fédération d’Ile-de-France de Recherche en Environnement (FIRE) sur le sous-bassin des Avenelles au cours de l’année 2008.

  • Stations de mesure de qualité des eaux

     

    La qualité des eaux est mesurée sur les eaux de pluie du bassin, les eaux de surface, les eaux de drainage, les eaux de nappe et de source

    Les eaux de surface sont échantillonnées à l’aide de préleveurs automatiques toutes les 24h. Les autres prélèvements d’eau (pluies, nappes, sources, drains) sont effectués manuellement, lors de la tournée hebdomadaire, voir bihebdomadaire par un technicien de recherche. Les échantillons sont stockés sur place à 4°C avant d’être acheminés au Laboratoire de Chimie du Cemagref d’Antony qui suit une démarche Qualité et garantit ainsi la fiabilité des mesures.

    Sur l’ensemble des échantillons, le NH4, NO3, NO2, PO4 et les Chlorures sont analysés par spectrophotométrie automatisée en flux continu (Traacs800 Brann + Luebbe). Sont également analysés le carbone organique et inorganique dissous à l’aide d’un TOC Analyser (Model 700 de BIORITECH) avec une précision de ± 0,05 mg/l.Pour certains échantillons, la conductivité a également été mesurée directement à l’aide d’un conductimètre (WTW LF 538).

    Actuellement, des mesures en continu et in situ des concentrations en nitrate sont réalisées, via des sondes multiparamètres spectro-photomètriques (Sondes SCAN), en cours de validation.

    De la même manière que pour les mesures de débit, la spatialisation des mesures de qualité des eaux de surface est représentative de la spatialisation des ordres de Strahler rencontrés sur ORACLE. Des mesures de qualité d’eau sont effectuées à l’exutoire de chaque sous-bassin versant d’ORACLE. Des mesures de qualités des eaux à l’exutoire de sous-bassins essentiellement agricoles ou essentiellement forestiers sont également effectuées afin d’évaluer l’effet du couvert forestier sur la diffusion de la pollution agricole.

  • Station météorologique

     

    Une station météorologique complète gérée par Irstea à été installée sur ORACLE et deux autres stations gérées par Météo-France sont situées dans un environnement proche. Ainsi, les données météorologiques sont acquises depuis 1962.

    Une partie de ces mesures est aujourd’hui télétransmise à Météo-France qui renvoie les données validées à Irstea. Météo-France fournit en plus des données ainsi validées, des données journalières calculées d’évapotranspiration potentielle (ETP). La validation se fait ici par inter-comparaison avec les données provenant des deux stations météorologiques les plus proches.

  • Stations de mesure d’humidité des sols

     

    Les mesures d’humidité du sol sur plusieurs profondeurs en un même site (11 profondeurs différentes de 5 cm à 155 cm) sont acquises par une méthode de réflectométrie (TDR). Les mesures d’humidité du sol en surface (0-5 cm de profondeur) sont acquises par des sondes « Thêta » qui donnent une valeur moyenne de l’humidité, toujours par réflectométrie, sur l’ensemble de la longueur des électrodes (5 cm).

    Ces méthodes permettent de mesurer des humidités avec une résolution de 1 % et une précision de la mesure de ± 3 % (valeurs du constructeur). Actuellement, il existe trois points de mesure d’humidité du sol, sur plusieurs profondeurs, situés sur le bassin versant de l’Orgeval, au nord du Petit Morin et au sud du Grand Morin. Trois stations de mesure de l’humidité des sols en surface sont situées sur le bassin du Grand Morin.